ALGOR, Inc
ALGOR, Inc
 
ALGOR, IncALGOR, Inc Click Here For Printer Friendly VersionALGOR, Inc
ALGOR, IncALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc ALGOR, Inc

How to Work with Presentations

When evaluating and presenting results in the Superview IV Results environment of FEMPRO, you can specify many settings related to the display area. As described in How to Specify Model Presentations, these settings enable you to view different result types, define plot settings (including options for specifying contour colors, legend properties, range settings, vector plots and isolines) and specify annotations.

Once you have created customized presentation settings, you can save them and conveniently reuse them later, which provides additional flexibility for your results evaluation and presentation needs and saves you time and effort.

The steps involved in creating, saving and reusing presentations are summarized below.

Creating Presentations

When a model is opened in the Superview IV Results environment, it will be displayed with settings from a default presentation according to the analysis type (unless you have previously saved a presentation with the model and defined it as the default presentation). The current presentation will be listed in the tree view under "Presentations". For example, a structural analysis type might show "1 <Stress>" as the name of the current presentation.

To create a new presentation, do the following:

  • Right click on "Presentations" in the tree view to access a pop-up menu with the following options (see Figure 1):
    Figure 1: Right clicking "Presentations" in the tree view gives options for creating a new contour or graph presentation.
    • New Contour Presentation - Creates a new contour presentation, which will appear in the tree view under "Presentations" (such as "2 <Unnamed>") and in the display area with default settings.
    • New Graph Presentation - Creates a new graph presentation with default settings, which will appear in the tree view under "Presentations" and in the display area.
You can modify the display settings as you like for these newly created presentations.

Additionally, an existing presentation can be copied as follows:

  • Right click on a presentation in the tree view to access a pop-up menu of options and choose "Clone" (see Figure 2).
    Figure 2: The "Clone" command can be used to create a duplicate of an existing presentation.
A duplicate presentation will then appear in the tree view under "Presentations" and in the display area. You can modify the settings for the cloned presentation if desired. The "Rename" option lets you type a unique descriptive name for a presentation.

Saving Presentations

Once you've created your customized settings, you can save them by right clicking on the current presentation in the tree view and choosing from the following two options:

  • Save with Model - Saves your customized settings with the current model. The presentation will appear under "Saved Presentations" in the tree view and will be available each time the model is opened.
  • Save with System - Saves your customized settings with your Windows user settings. The presentation will appear under "Saved Presentations" and will be available when you open any model.
If you want your customized settings to be saved for this model only, choose "Save with Model". If you want to be able to access these settings for any model that you analyze in the future, choose "Save with System".

Reusing Presentations

When you open a model and want to use a saved presentation, do the following:

  • In the tree view under "Saved Presentations", right click on the saved presentation to access a pop-up menu with the following options (see Figure 3):
    Figure 3: Choose "Activate" to apply a saved presentation.
    • Activate - Activates the presentation.
    • Delete - Deletes the saved presentation. For a presentation that was saved using "Save with Model", this option deletes the saved settings in the model database. For a presentation that was saved using "Save with System", it deletes the saved settings in your Windows user settings.
    • Save with System - For a presentation that was saved using "Save with Model", this option is available. For a presentation that was saved using "Save with System", the pop-up menu shows the "Save with Model" option.
    • Make Default - This option is available for a presentation that was saved using "Save with Model" and it specifies that this presentation will be used by default when the model is opened. You can use "Make Default" on more than one saved presentation, which will cause each default saved presentation to be displayed as a tiled window when the model is opened.

Thus, the capability to create, save and reuse customized presentations provides additional flexibility and convenience for evaluating and presenting results.

For more information about working with presentations, see the ALGOR User's Guide.



Copyright 2011 Autodesk, Inc. All rights reserved.   Privacy Policy Legal Notices & Trademarks Report Piracy